Hear from experts in their field from around the world – more speakers to be announced


Ari Leppäniemi, MD, PhD, DMCC, Professor h.c.

Ari Leppäniemi is the Chief of Emergency Surgery at the Helsinki University Hospital Meilahti, Finland. His background training includes General and Gastroenterological Surgery with subsequent training and diplomas in Prehospital Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Disaster Medicine and International Health Care. He has worked as a Field Surgeon for the International Red Cross for civil wars of Cambodia, Sudan and Afghanistan, and as a Volunteer Surgeon for the United Nations Development Programme in Tuvalu and as Senior House Officer for the Department of Community Medicine in Zaria, Nigeria.

He is the Past-President of the European Society for Trauma and Emergency Surgery (ESTES), Finnish Society of Surgery, International Association for Trauma Surgery and Intensive Care (IATSIC), and the Ambroise Pare International Military Surgery Forum (APIMSF). He is the Editor-in-Chief of the Scandinavian Journal of Surgery, Editor of the European Journal of Trauma and Emergency Surgery, and Associate Editor of the World Journal of Surgery and the World Journal of Emergency Surgery. He is an Honorary Fellow of the American Surgical Association and European Society for Trauma and Emergency. He has published over 180 original articles, more than 200 review articles, book chapters and dissertations, and more than 150 editorials, letters, commentaries and other articles, mostly on abdominal trauma, acute pancreatitis and abdominal compartment syndrome.

His hobbies include fishing, badminton, and jazz.


Dieter Weber

Dieter Weber is a Trauma and General surgeon with the State Major Trauma Service and the Department of General Surgery at Royal Perth Hospital. He is associated with the School of Surgery with the University of Western Australia and is also a course coordinator for the Masters of Traumatology with the University of Newcastle.

He has authored and instructed on numerous trauma and emergency surgery related courses, and is engaged in research in these fields.

He is a Board member of the World Society of Emergency Surgery, and a member of the European Society of Trauma and Emergency Surgery and the International Surgical Society.

Locally, he serves as the trauma representative for State Committee, as well as the regional representative for the Clinical Examinations Committee for the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons.



Dr Mark Elcock PSM is Executive Director, Aeromedical Retrieval and Disaster Management Branch, Queensland Department of Health and Assoc Professor (Adjunct) College of Public Health, Medical and Vet Sciences, James Cook University. He is the Chair of the ACEM Conjoint Pre Hospital and Retrieval Medicine (PHRM) Committee.

He has provided the clinical leadership behind the development and establishment of Australia’s first fully integrated adult, paediatric, neonatal and high risk obstetric retrieval system, providing >21,000 retrievals/transports per year across Queensland. He has a strong interest in PHRM, trauma care, telehealth, clinical governance and rural/remote Emergency Medicine.



Rebekah Ogilvie

Rebekah is a Trauma Nurse Practitioner with 20 years emergency nursing and trauma experience, and is the Trauma Coordinator at The Canberra Hospital. 

She completed a Master of Nursing (Critical Care) at the University of Sydney in 2004 and was awarded the Elsevier Australia Prize for Critical Care. Rebekah also completed a Master of Nursing – Nurse Practitioner (Trauma & Retrieval) through the University of Newcastle, graduating in 2009 with Merit. In 2016 she completed a Doctor of Philosophy with the University of Sydney, thesis tile: Major traumatic physical injury in young people during the initial six month injury trajectory: an explanatory sequential mixed methods study. 

In 2015, Rebekah was awarded Researcher of the Year at the ACT Nursing and Midwifery Awards. Her research impact has played a major contribution in securing an additional $5.3 million in funding for trauma services in the ACT and the formalisation of a trauma specific admitting service, as well as recurrent funding to continue the internationally recognised P.A.R.T.Y (Prevent Alcohol and Risk-Related Trauma in Youth) program in the Canberra region. 


© 2017 Injury Conference proudly created by SPIDER Websites